Answered

Access Salesforce Contact Record

• 25 April 2022
  • 7 replies

Userlevel 1

I am new to Typeform, evaluating it for a use case for a non-profit I am working with. Wondering what’s possible with the salesforce integration. I would like to collect name and contact information in a form and then lookup the salesforce contact record to see if they already exist. If they do, then I would like to fill in the address information and ask if it is current. If not, then continue and have them fill in the address information on their own. At the end, if the contact existed, I need to create an opportunity. If the contact is new, then I need to create a lead.

Can anyone tell me about similar use cases and how you handled them?

icon

Best answer by picsoung 4 May 2022, 23:01

View original

7 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +5

Hi @Todd M. Happy Monday! Thanks for checking out Typeform. 😀

Our Salesforce integration is a one-way integration, meaning that we can send data to Salesforce, but we can’t obtain data from Salesforce. You can collect information in your form, but the form itself can’t look within Salesforce to see if the data already exists. 

I’m afraid we don’t have a solution within Typeform that would do this since the questions/answer options need to be pre-set before the form is sent, but how are your respondents accessing the form? For example, are you planning to email them the form to fill out? Or will it be on your website? 

Userlevel 1

Hi @Liz, thanks for the comment. I will try to describe what I was picturing.

I would launch the initial form using a button on the website. With that initial form, I would collect information that could help me identify the person (like an email address), and when that form is submitted I would catch it with either Zapier or Salesforce directly, and look up the contact record.